AWSEF Awards 2016 Scholarships

Seven graduate students representing six different universities have each been awarded an AWSEF scholarship in the amount of $3,500 for 2016.

They are....

  • Jordan Beaver, a PhD candidate at the University of California-Davis, was awarded the Banfi Vintners Foundation / AWSEF scholarship.  
  • Jay Martiniuk, a Masters candidate enrolled at the University of British Columbia, was awarded the Columbus, Ohio AWS Chapter scholarship In Memory of Nancy Goorey.  
  • From Virginia Tech, Brycen Hill, also a Masters candidate, was awarded the East Tennessee / Smoky Mountains AWS Chapter scholarship, In Fond Memory of Our Former Members Who Now Belong to the Chapter Eternal.  
  • Maria Smith, who is a PhD candidate enrolled at Pennsylvania State University, is the recipient of the South Eastern PA Region scholarship In Honor of Larry and Elinor Edmonson.  
  • Two Washington State University Students were awarded scholarships this year:  Megan Schumaker, a Masters candidate, is the recipient of the Lehigh Valley AWS Chapter scholarship and Caroline Merrell, a PhD candidate, received the South Carolina - Tuller AWS Chapter Scholarship.  Note, Caroline also won an AWSEF scholarship in 2015.
  • Auburn University Masters candidate, Andrej Svyantek, was awarded the North Alabama AWS Chapter scholarship in Honor of Bonnie and Dennis Dilworth.

To see photos of these students and  brief outlines of their graduate study research and projects, click here.

Congratulations to all our scholarship recipients!