Latest Posts

2020 Award of Merit to Judith Anne Starkloff

Judy Starkloff, wife of former AWSEF Board member, Karl Starkloff, is remembered for the many ways she assisted the AWSEF in its mission.

Continue Reading...

2020 Scholarship Winners

In 2020, the AWS Educational Foundation awarded $3500 scholarships to seven very talented Masters and PhD candidate students across North America.

Continue Reading...

2019 Scholarship Recipients

The AWS Educational Foundation awarded eight scholarships to Masters and PhD candidates across North America in 2019.  

Continue Reading...

2018 Scholarship Winners


Continue Reading...

Previous Scholarship Winners UPDATES!

The AWSEF Board has been locating and talking with many of our scholarship winners from the past 25 years and we'll be sharing updates about them on the PAST WINNERS tab.

October 22:  Kirsten Skorgerson, PhD     THEN--2005 and 2006 Winner    NOW--Employed by Monsanto

October 15:  Gordon Walker, PhD    THEN--2011 and 2012 Winner   NOW--Sales Representative for Flotek in Napa area

October 8:  Justine E. Vanden Heuvel, PhD   THEN--2001 Winner    NOW--Associate Professor of Viticulture and Director of Undergraduate Studies for Viticulture & Enology, Cornell University

October 1:   Christopher Snowden, PhD   THEN--2007 and 2008 Winner    NOW--Research Scientist, University of Denver, Colorado  

September 24:  Vinay Pagay, PhD   THEN--2007 Winner    NOW--Research Scientist and Lecturer, University of Adelaide, Australia

September 17:  Emily Terrell, MS   THEN--2007 and 2008 Winner   NOW--Assistant Winemaker, Brittan Vineyards and Winderlea Wine Company

September 10:  Michelle Moyer, PhD  THEN--2006 and 2007 Winner    NOW--Assistant Professor and Statewide Viticulture Extension Specialist, Washington State University

September 3:   Renee Terrell Threlfall, PhD    THEN--1994 and 1995 Winner   NOW--Research Scientist at University of Arkansas

August 27:  Patricia Skinkis, PhD   THEN--2004 and 2005 Winner     NOW--Viticulture Extension Specialist & Associate Professor, Oregon State University

August 20:  Elwyn A. Gladstone, MS     THEN--1998 Winner     NOW--Owner/Founder Biggar & Leith LLC Premium Spirits

August 13:  Steven Marko, MS     THEN--2001 Winner    NOW--Senior Director, Research & Development, Tillamook County Creamery Assoc.



Continue Reading...

2017 Scholarship Recipients

Seven students from six different universities across the U.S. and Canada were each awarded  $3,500 scholarship in 2017.

Continue Reading...

Board of Trustees 2018-19

Thank you to everyone who voted for our Board of Trustees this fall.  Meet our newest members...

Continue Reading...

Remembering Eileen Tobias, AWSEF Trustee

We are sad to share the news that dedicated former AWSEF Trustee, Eileen M. Tobias, of Fairmont, Pennsylvania, passed away on Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at Penn Hospice at Rittenhouse after a brief illness. 

Continue Reading...

AWSEF 2018 Elections

The next election for Trustees will be held this summer for a four year term beginning January 1, 2018. Per the AWSEF bylaws, the Board of Trustees consists of seven Trustees, one of whom is the current AWS President. The following Trustees will be either completing their four year term and/or are up for reelection: Bonnie Lance, Karl Starkloff & Jim High.

We invite you to consider running for a position on our dynamic Board which works together with the AWS to support its education mission.   See the timetable for the election process.

Continue Reading...

2017 Eastern PA Wine Conference

Eastern Pennsylvania AWS chapters hold annual one-day Wine Conference on March 11 in Lansdale, PA.  There's so much to learn about wine.  Come discover with us!

Continue Reading...